Rock Climbing in Skagway Alaska

I love Adventure… A particularly fond memory was when I was on an Alaskan Cruise. While in the port of Skagway Alaska, I chose a rock-climbing expedition… For most people this is not a big deal, but I have been afraid checking the cliffof heights for most of my life and I wanted to prove to myself that I could do it.

I crammed a helmet on and stepped into the harness.

As the young man hooked me up to the safety line, I caught a close up look at the shear cliff I was expected to climb. I have been to an indoor climbing wall with the grandkids (I did not climb then), but this was a totally different scene… there were no footholds, no pretty coloured hand holds to mark the pathway to the top.

I was expected to pick my own pathway, I would have to choose where my foot would go, where there was a ledge I could balance a toe on.

now what

 

 

All I could see was the high rock cliff and a thin safety wire. (Could I trust this thin line to hold my weight?)

Nothing ventured, nothing gained. I reached up and the adventure began.

I was on my way and loving it.

One foot at a time, one hand reaching up to the next crack or something I could call a handhold.

Sometimes I felt my toes were balancing on the sheer cliff alone. yet I straightened my leg and the shoes held firm.

Im doing this

It takes a lot of physical strength climb. My legs and arms really got a workout.

the second climb is higher

Rock-climbing-skagway-Alaska

I made it to the top and rang the bell

the second rapell                  I did it!!!

What a great feeling, I felt very proud of myself… I had truly conquered “the mountain” … my fear of heights and had a great adventure at the same time.

What goes up

 …. must come down.

And that, my friend, is where the fun truly begins. swinging out and bouncing off the rock wall while descending was such a thrill.

I would do this again in a heartbeat.

 

7 thoughts on “Rock Climbing in Skagway Alaska

I would love you to leave a comment...

