Taking a Risk Involves Fear.

Mark Twain

This quote by Mark Twain resonated with me as I began my new life as a divorced woman. I did not want to live with regrets. In a previous post  12 Self Discovery Questions I talked about coming to the realization that I no longer knew my identity. Discovering my identity was a big step, but only a first step.

I had to make some changes and with change, there is Risk.  I had to step into unknown territory.  Taking a risk involves fear. There were no guarantees that things would work out but I knew I could not stay where I was.

One of the first things I had to change was my fear of people. I am a very shy person. I could not string a few words together in front of even three or four people.

I would imagine people laughing at me for saying something stupid. I knew this was an unreasonable fear but I had always allowed the fear to control my mind. I had to change my mindset. I knew life would be different if I could change.

I had to take action. I came to realize that, if I wanted to change, I had to take responsibility for that change to happen. I became motivated from within.  I saw that doing nothing, that simply accepting myself as that shy person, was holding me back from being the person I always wanted to be.

Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.”

I took a risk and threw off the “bowlines”. I left the “safe harbour” and joined several groups. I specifically chose places where I did not know anyone. Among the people I knew, I was expected to be the shy one, and I played that role well. I felt with strangers I could be a different person. I joined a photography club and a writing group. One of the biggest risks I took was joining Toastmasters. I knew I would have to stand up and talk in front of a group. It was scary but I did it afraid. I am very glad that I did. I am still shy, but I no longer allow my shyness to hold me back. I am now free to “explore, dream and discover” what life has in store for me.

 

 

5 thoughts on “Taking a Risk Involves Fear.

  1. Wish you all the best for your future endeavor. as a person I am also very shy. can not make the first move when talking to people. Here in Finland the language barrier has made me more introvert. I know little finnish but very shy to use it. I want to talk talk and talk and thus want to improve my skill.

    Like

  2. Wonderful post, Maggie! It has been great to ‘see’ the transformation in you as you’ve stepped out and taken those risks. You are blossoming, girl! What an example you are to others. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Well done! I know what it’s like to step into the world alone after so long. One of the first things I did was join a jive swing dance class – it was daunting at first, I loved it, but after a couple of months I had to give up, just couldn’t co-ordinate my feet and arms. But I’ll try another easier dance class soon. Keep at it!

    Like

I would love you to leave a comment...

